Special Intervention Program


Special Education – SPED — The special intervention program caters to children who are either experiencing difficulty with the regular class or are formally diagnosed to have a developmental disorder. Partnering with other health professionals, the program provides a tailor-fitted curriculum taking into consideration the developmental needs and goals of the student.

Individual Intervention (I.I.)

  • This is the first stage of intervention where behaviors of concern are addressed such as attention regulation, compliance, frustration tolerance, difficulty in communication, self-stimulatory and other disruptive behaviors. Further, the goal of the program is to prepare the child for group intervention or regular academic class.

The following are the phases of the Individual Intervention Program:

  • Learning to Learn Phase- This is an Individualized Instruction program which aims to address pupil’s developmental needs. They will learn basic skills (e.g., attention regulation, task compliance, feedback processing) in order to adapt to the school environment.
  • Middle Phase- At this phase, basic self-help and academic skills are introduced.
  • Advanced Phase- Exposure sessions to the regular class are gradually given to the student to prepare him for transition. This stage will increasingly develop the student’s ability to learn and function in natural settings (e.g., regular classroom, play time. The interventionist holds discretion over the program variation in order to meet the pupil’s specific needs.

Because we want to provide ample opportunities to teach social and life skills to the students under the II program, Fridays would be spent for Teaching Interactions (TI). Hence, Friday is TI Day which follows a thematic approach.

Group Intervention (G.I.)

This phase follows a regular classroom set up but with modified pacing and teaching strategies to suit and address the special needs of the pupils. With emphasis on teaching of Functional Academics, Life Skills and Social Skills. Divided into four levels, children are expected to develop their cognitive skills and work with their peers.

The following are the levels of the Group Intervention Program:

  • Primary Level- tackles the basic subjects like English Reading, Writing, Science, and Math.
  • Middle Level- has the same subjects as Primary Level but with the addition of Computer and MAPEH.
  • Advanced Level- has the same subjects with the Middle Level with the addition of Pre-vocational subject.
  • Transitional Level- where kids get to slowly learn a trade that would help them cope with environmental demands and survival.

Life skills are embedded in the Primary and Middle levels.


  A pupil may not follow through with each stage depending on his/her current performance.

  • Skip phase and advance –   significantly improved performance
  • Return to a phase           –   regress


Should a client needs an Occupational Therapy on top of the interventions mentioned above, we can refer you to our trusted partner-centers that offer such service.


The school has an in-house Clinical Psychologist who can give further assessment or evaluation should there be a need.


We also offer tutorial services and resource classes for those students (in the regular or SPED department) who are having difficulty in their academics. This is pre-arranged.

Contact Us